More articles in this category
Top Stories

The RCC board chairperson Fritz Jacobs has told The Villager that he welcomes the Cabinet Committee on Overall Policy and Priorities’ (CCOPP...

The Ovaherero paramount chief, Vekuii Rukoro has proposed that the recently discovered Ovaherero and Nama human remains should be kept in the Unit...

The Oshakati Town Council in partnership with Oshakati Premier Electric (OPE) has launched a pilot phase of national support tariff mechanism with...

Analysts have voiced their concern over the latest move to place the Roads Contractor Company (RCC) under administrative management saying that wh...

  Michael Gaweseb, a NamWater director, has written to the board urging them to discipline the Chief Executive Officer Dr Vaino Shivute ov...

Namibia Equity Brokers (NEB) analyst Ngoni Bopoto has said GRN is well on course in its efforts to bring down debt to manageable levels judging by...

Other Articles from The Villager

Top four cricket associates to play in African cup

Fri, 5 September 2014 15:06
by Online Sport Reporter
News Flash

The Africa Cricket Association (ACA) has confirmed that the Top four African associates will be competing against the two full members in the Africa Cup 2014.
 Kenya, Namibia, Uganda and Tanzania, as the top four cricketing Associate countries will compete against Zimbabwe emerging and South Africa emerging teams in a round robin tournament to be played in Johannesburg at Sahara Park Willowmoore.
 The teams will compete over five days playing 5 limited overs matches.
These matches will determine the winner of the Africa Cup 2014. 
 Cassim Suliman the CEO of African Cricket Association said, “I am envisaging that this will become a annual event. It is hoped that we can grow it into tournament where the best African cricketers are competing against each other on equal terms,” said Suliman.
Sulima also said, “As we all know, it is only through the furnace of fierce competition that we can temper the talents of our cricketers. The recent win by the Zimbabwe National team against Australia (ranked #1 in ODI’s) has proved this,” he said.
 The ACA have also announced the squads to participate in this competition:
 1.      Zimbabwe Invitation XI
2.      South Africa Invitation XI
3.      Uganda
4.      Kenya
5.      Tanzania
6.      Namibia