More articles in this category
Top Stories

Swapo 2017: What Have They Done This is the third part in a series where The Villager will analyse what each of 11 Swapo Party top four candida...

Controversially “deposed” president of the National Union of Namibian Workers (NUNW) Ismael Kasuto has exclusively told The Villager t...

Some members of the Ondonga community want the police officers who harassed them during a peaceful meeting at Okakodhi in Oshikoto prosecuted. ...

Swapo 2017: What Have They Done This is the second part in a series where The Villager will analyse what each of 11 Swapo Party top four candid...

Adv. Vekuii Rukoro has said that the German government is trying to avoid the charges lodged against it for the Ovaherero and Nama genocide during...

Other Articles from The Villager

Kakuva appointed new Pirates boss

Mon, 14 July 2014 02:26
by Michael Uugwanga


FNB Orlando Pirates have appointed former Sport Klub Windhoek (SKW) coach Lucky Kakuva as their new coach for next season after the resignation of former coach, Ali Akan.
Kakuva confirmed this to The Villager Sport saying he has already signed a contract to take over.
“Yes, I had a discussion with the chairman of the club and we had agreed about next season. All I can say is that I will take charge of the team next season.
Kakuva is Pirates’ eighth coach in nine years after succeeding Akan and many coaches have come and gone at Pirates something that Kakuva is not bothered.
Below are former Pirates coaches who have been fired or resigned at the club in the last nine years. Brian Isaacs was Pirates coach from 2000 until 2007 after he was shown the door.
Dawid Snewe came in in 2009 but was shown the door in 2010.
Woody Jacobs was then appointed coach in 2011 but his reign lasted few weeks. Rusten Mogane was also appointed coach in 2011but his reign lasted only seven months. Bertus Bock took over from Mogane until the end of the 2011/12 soccer season.
Christy Guruseb was then appointed on a full time basis for the 2012/13 soccer season but his reign only lasted for one season.
The management of the club decided to appoint Akan who only lasted for 11 months. Pirates have been underachievers domestically compared to their Katutura rivals, Black Africa and African Stars who have been dominating the local front.
Pirates have only won the Namibia Premier League (NPL) twice in 1990 and 2008, probably their biggest achievements to date is in the Namibia Football Association (NFA) cups they won three times in, 2002, 2006 and 2009 and only Chief Santos and Stars have won more NFA cups than the Bucaneers (4) each.
Kakuva said he is aware of the pressure at the club saying that he will handle it very well, despite failing to safe his former club SKW from relegation from the MTC/NPL 2012/13 soccer season.
“ I am not worried about it as I am an experience coach and yes I know of the pressure but I will handle it,” said Kakuva.