More articles in this category
Top Stories

Controversially “deposed” president of the National Union of Namibian Workers (NUNW) Ismael Kasuto has exclusively told The Villager t...

Some members of the Ondonga community want the police officers who harassed them during a peaceful meeting at Okakodhi in Oshikoto prosecuted. ...

Swapo 2017: What Have They Done This is the second part in a series where The Villager will analyse what each of 11 Swapo Party top four candid...

Adv. Vekuii Rukoro has said that the German government is trying to avoid the charges lodged against it for the Ovaherero and Nama genocide during...

Swapo 2017 What Have They Done Series This is the first part in a series where The Villager will analyse what each of 11 Swapo Party top fou...

Other Articles from The Villager

Tjiriange to head Swapo Disciplinary Committee

Tue, 22 October 2013 21:02
by Online Writer
News Flash

Former Veterans Affairs Minister, Dr Ngarikutuke Tjiriange has been appointed as the chairperson of the ruling Swapo Party Disciplinary Committee, while Saara Kuugongelwa-Amadhila and Helmut Angula are the new Central Committee members.
Tjiriange will be deputised by former Deputy Prime Minister Dr Libertine Amathila in an eight member committee comprising of former Prime Minister and current Speaker of the House Dr Theo Ben Gurirab, Doreen Sioka, Willem Konjore, Connie Pandeni, Tommy Nambahu and Jermana Shitale.
Swapo Secretary General Nangolo Mbumba explained this morning that the party needed the committee in order to keep order and prevent the abuse of other party members.
“We accuse each other of doing this and that. If someone abuses another member or steal money from the party or is a false member of the party we will submit them to the disciplinary committee” explained Mbumba.
The appointments were made at the party's politburo meeting yesterday in the capital.
At the same meeting, President Hifikepunye Pohamba also nominated Finance Minister Saara Kuughongelwa-Amadhila and Helmut Hangula for the Central Committee under Chapter 2 Article 7 (4) of the Swapo Constitution.