More articles in this category
Top Stories

National Union of Namibian Workers (NUNW) president Ismael Kasuto is clinging to the federation’s leadership after a majority of affiliate s...

President Hage Geingob has described the late liberation war heroine Angelika Muharukua as a selfless cadre whose qualities are now rare to find. ...

Swapo 2017: What Have They Done This is the third part in a series where The Villager will analyse what each of 11 Swapo Party top four candida...

Controversially “deposed” president of the National Union of Namibian Workers (NUNW) Ismael Kasuto has exclusively told The Villager t...

Some members of the Ondonga community want the police officers who harassed them during a peaceful meeting at Okakodhi in Oshikoto prosecuted. ...

Swapo 2017: What Have They Done This is the second part in a series where The Villager will analyse what each of 11 Swapo Party top four candid...

Other Articles from The Villager

Louis, Kavendji top goal scorers

by namibiasport



The premier league top goal scorer of 2009, Jerome Louis of Black Africa and Richard Kavendji of Hotspurs are leading the top goalscorer’s chat with eight goals apiece after completion of 17 rounds in the MTC Premiership.
Louis scored a goal in Black Africa’s 2-1 victory against Mighty Gunners last week, to ensure that they remain unbeaten while they are now just one point away from securing the league title for the second year in a row.
Kavendji has done extremely well considering that Hotspurs are struggling and are currently second last on the log. He did not score in their 2-0 defeat to Tigers on March 28, but scored one goal in their 3-3 draw against Eleven Arrows on March 17.
Breathing down their necks on seven goals each are Civics striker Costa Khaiseb, Mighty Gunners striker Harold Ochurub and Ramblers defender Emilio Martin.
Khaiseb and Martin have been on seven goals for a while, but Ochurub joined them on March 17 after scoring a great solo goal in Gunners’ 1-1 draw against Tigers.
Ochurub won the Top Goalscorer award last season and is clearly determined to hang on to the award.
They are followed by seven players who are on six goals each.
They are Black Africa midfielders Bryan Bantam and Marco van Wyk, African Stars midfielder Rudi Louw, Tigers strikers Pineas Jacob and Benson Shilongo, SKW striker Panduleni Nekundi and Eleven Arrows striker Dominic Edom.
Louis, the  2005 top goal scorer for Academia High School and the 2007,  Namibian Newspaper Cup  Player of the Series and Top Goal scorer set the 23 goal league record in 2009.-additional namibiasport