Hage announces his chosen for SWAPO leadership

President Hage Geingob has thrown into the dish his preferred list for the SWAPO party leadership which is as follows, Hage Geingob for president, Netumbo Nandi-Ndaitwah for vice president, Sophia Shaningwa for secretary general, Marco Hausiku for deputy SG.

When he addressed the meeting of the SWAPO Party Politburo today, he said, “This is my preferred list and by announcing it, I have exercised my right to choose”. 

The president has also said, “In order to allow people ample time to prepare, we have postponed nominations until the meeting of the SWAPO Party Politburo on the 12th October, which will be followed by a meeting of the Central Committee on the 22nd October.”

In his official launch of the campaign trail, he admonished his cadres to play smart by addressing issues and not politics of personality during the campaign.

“When you play the ball, once the game is complete, players accept the result, shake hands and move on. When you play the man, you leave wounds and the game descends into bitterness, since wounds don’t heal easily,” he said.