More articles in this category
Top Stories

National Union of Namibian Workers (NUNW) president Ismael Kasuto is clinging to the federation’s leadership after a majority of affiliate s...

President Hage Geingob has described the late liberation war heroine Angelika Muharukua as a selfless cadre whose qualities are now rare to find. ...

Swapo 2017: What Have They Done This is the third part in a series where The Villager will analyse what each of 11 Swapo Party top four candida...

Controversially “deposed” president of the National Union of Namibian Workers (NUNW) Ismael Kasuto has exclusively told The Villager t...

Some members of the Ondonga community want the police officers who harassed them during a peaceful meeting at Okakodhi in Oshikoto prosecuted. ...

Swapo 2017: What Have They Done This is the second part in a series where The Villager will analyse what each of 11 Swapo Party top four candid...

Other Articles from The Villager

Fistball league concludes

Mon, 14 November 2016 16:25
by Erasmus Shalihaxwe

Cohen Fistball Club 1(CFC) and Swakopmund Fistball Club (SFC) emerged victorious in their respective divisions in the 2016 Namibia Fistball season tournament finale hosted by CFC and was sponsored by Bank Windhoek over the weekend.
In the, A division four teams played in a round robin modus against each other. The tournament was played half times of 15 times each which is different to the league games that are battled out by winning sets.
The defending champion and newly crowned league winner Cohen 1 underlined their ambitions in the group stages to be a favourite for the tittle once again by beating all of their opponents pretty comfortably, even their biggest rival SKW1 went down with an 8 point deficit, thus qualifying for the final.
The league champion of the season division SKW 2 had entered the completion in the A-division to increase the number of competitors. They did well against SKW 1 with their main skipper Michael Baas, who could find the open spaces and score effectively. It was only in the second half time that SKW 1 raised the pressure on their club colleagues that led to a victory.
CFC 2 went down terribly against all teams even losing to SKW 2 which they hoped to have a reasonable chance of victory. In the semi-final SKW 1 faced SKW 2 as being 2nd and 3rd placed in the group, respectively. SKW 1 showed no mercy and easily went through to qualify for the final.
The final was played out of 5 sets with CFC winning the first after running behind in the middle of the set. In the second set one identified a strong playing SKW side and they effectively capitalised on the mistake by CFC 1 levelling the score. After a hard fought 3rd set Cohen managed to come out on top, CFC 1 only had to win 1more set.
 Everything seemed to go their way but after leading 7:3 they started to throw away points and ended up losing the set 7:11 a fantastic come back by SKW 1. It came down to the wire in the last set which ended in favour of CFC 1 11:9.
In the B-division 6 teams entered the competition and besides the usual teams that competed in the league, SKW U/15 and SKW social team also participated. The runners up of the league SFC, played superb and won every game comfortably.
CFC 3 and DTS managed to win against the U/15, social and CFC 4 teams which placed them in second and third position. The newly started U/15’s gave a good performance for their first appearance and a lot good potential were identified.
Same was case with CFC 4 which integrated three U/11’s in their team. They pulled off a fantastic result by winning against the social team which consisted of mainly previous national team players and drawing against the U/15s.
In the semi-final CFC 3 won against a DTS and they faced the Footballers from the coast. The first was hard fought with a bitter ending for SFC. Cfc3 who could not withstand the pressure in the 2nd set and went down 11:5 to crown SFC the new national cup victor.
The player of the day went to Olaf Haase from SFC, the award f most valuable player was awarded to last year’s winner Udo Witte. The player of the year award went to Helmo Minz for the second year in a row. There be annual meeting on the 15 November 2016 with the venue yet to be confirmed.