You have news tips, feel free to contact us via email

Geingob Retains the Top 3

President Hage Geingob has reappointed vice president Nangolo Mbumba, prime minister Saara Kuugongelwa-Amadhila and deputy prime minister Netumbo Nandi-Ndaitwah ahead of his inauguration on Saturday.

Geingob announced the reappointments Wednesday at State House in Windhoek.

He said the vice president deputises and assists the president in the execution of his Constitutional mandate.

“In appointing a vice president, the president does so taking into account a balanced reflection of the national character of the people of Namibia,” Geingob said.

He further said that the vice president has further delegated oversight over the Social Safety Net cluster of Gender Equality, Poverty Eradication & Social Welfare, which have been elevated to the Presidency to spearhead the war against Poverty and Inequality.

According to Geingob, the prime minister is the leader of government business in parliament & coordinates the work of the Cabinet as the Head of Administration and Public Service.

“He or she oversees the implementation of Cabinet decisions at ministerial and government levels and is tasked to implement the performance management system. The prime minister may also perform other functions as may be assigned by the president or vice president,” Geingob said.

The deputy prime minister is there to deputize the prime minister and oversee disaster risk management, focusing on prevention, preparedness, response and recovery.

The deputy prime minister discharges this responsibility, in addition to his or her ministerial position.

“In appointing the Top Four, I have been mindful of the importance of inclusive representation of the Namibian House, including gender parity.”









Wonder Guchu

Related Posts

Read Also ... x