Latest News

Popular Posts

You have news tips, feel free to contact us via email

Geingob moves 13 regions to stage 4 as Covid-19 stats mount

Namibia’s 13 regions will migrate to stage 4 effective 6 July 2020, president Hage Geingob said Monday.

The move from states 3 to 4 comes even after the country’s Covid-19 figures have risen to 63 with 28 new cases reported during the past 7-day period.

Twenty-four of the 28 newly reported cases originate from Erongo region, which recorded the highest number of diagnosed cases in the country since the announcement of the Index Case in the country exactly 100 days ago, on 14 March 2020.

Geingob told the nation that mindful of the adverse effects caused by the full lockdown on business, households and livelihoods and considering the regions’ capacity to respond to rising numbers of infection, the Erongo region will migrate from Stage 1 to stage 3 on 6 July 2020 for 14 days.

He also said travel between towns in the Erongo region and to the rest of the country will be permitted, with exception of the Walvis Bay, Swakopmund and Arandis Local Authority Areas.

According to Geingob, considering the linkages and movement of labour between the towns of Walvis Bay, Swakopmund and Arandis, travel between these Local Authority Areas will be permitted.

“However, travel into and out of these Local Authority Areas to the rest of the country is highly discouraged and will be restricted to emergency situations only, as defined in the regulations.

“Bearing in mind that the disease does not move by itself but through human carriers, all residents are strongly urged to avoid unnecessary travel during this period and allow authorities to conduct the active case search at these towns, in an effort to determine the extent of spread of disease into the community,” he said.

In addition, essential service providers as defined in the Regulations and truck drivers will be permitted to travel into and out of the region on the basis of an authorised permit.

“To avoid local truck drivers mixing with cross-border truck drivers, the Ministry of Urban and Rural Development in conjunction with the Ministry of Health and Social Services are directed to identify separate Truck Ports and parking areas at Walvis Bay, Swakopmund and Arandis Local Authority Areas,” the president further said.

He added that local truck drivers will be escorted by law enforcement officials to and from their respective delivery destinations.

Furthermore, he said, public gatherings at Erongo region will be restricted to 50 persons with the exception of Walvis Bay, Swakopmund & Arandis Local Authority Areas, which will be restricted to gatherings of 10 persons.

“Vulnerable persons, in categories as defined, will be permitted to work from home at Erongo region subject to an authorization issued by the Employer and upon presentation of a valid Medical Certificate. Old Age Homes should remain under isolation and caregivers should strictly adhere to the Health & Hygiene Protocols,” the president said.

Wonder Guchu

Related Posts

Read Also ... x