More articles in this category
Top Stories

The Namibia National Students’ Organisation has hailed the Namibia Career Expo agency’s 10th anniversary describing it as a consistent...

The Swapo Party Youth League (SPYL) has come out guns blazing against what they said has been a misrepresentation of facts based on what justice m...

The Namibia Student Financial Assistance Fund has flatly dismissed a letter calling for an Anti-Corruption Commission probe into possible fraud an...

The Namibia Institute of Pathology has suspended its chief executive officer, Augustinus Katiti effective immediately, following alleged transgres...

The tug of war for and against marine phosphate mining on the oceans of Namibia has left Pohamba Shifeta with a few hours within which he should m...

Two men who have been identified as Nicodemus Apollus (29) and Mervis Gariseb (37) burned to death after their shack caught fire in Windhoek&rsquo...

Other Articles from The Villager

Nujoma, Pohamba on GeingobÔÇÖs Presidential Council

Mon, 2 February 2015 19:44
by Online Writer
News Flash

Prime Minister and President-Elect, Dr. Hage Geingob announced this morning that once he takes on executive state authority, he will form a Presidential Council which will be comprised of the current President and the two former Presidents.

Geingob further that the two former Presidents have laid down valuable experience over the years, adding that in Namibian politics, the legacy continues.

“Comrade Sam Nujoma and Comrade Hifikepunye Pohamba have 15 and 10 years of governance experience respectively and will be engaged in advisory roles on Council. The Presidential Council will formally be created after inauguration,” said Geingob.

The Council will co-opt former Prime Ministers, Deputy Prime Ministers and other key personalities that have formed the pillar of Namibian politics. “This process will be important for camaraderie, consultation and continuity of Government policy,” said Geingob.

Geingob also announced that since the Constitution was amended which has led to the increase of the number of people, the President can nominate to the National Assembly from six to eight more candidates.

“You all know their names. Therefore I shall also make known the names of the eight people I shall nominate. Furthermore, some of these people will have to prepare themselves and those who are working somewhere will have to be given ample time to give their notices of resignation,” he said.-




According to Geingob, this is part of the practice of effective governance and is also good for transparency, adding that it will also put an end to constant speculation which is the result of a vacuum of information.

The eight additional members in NA

1.    Pendukeni Iivula-Ithan

2.    Jerry Ekandjo

3.    Albert Kawana

4.    Katrina Hanse-Himarwa

5.    Bishop Dr. Zephania Kameeta

6.    Dr. Bernard Shidute Haufiku

7.    Obed Kandjoze

8.    Heather Mwiza Sibungo

Geingob said these are all stalwarts of the Swapo party and in every democratic process there are winners and losers.

“Therefore, there are always casualties. However people who process knowledge and expertise, which have accumulated over the years, are of great value to Government,” said Geingob.

 He added that the last four candidates were chosen on the basis of expertise and gender, “Of course you will have to guess their portfolios, as those will only be made known once the full picture of the next Cabinet is complete,” he added.