More articles in this category
Top Stories

Newly appointed Urban and Rural Development minister, Peya Mushelenga, has urged employers to offer financial assistance to their workers and othe...

Distinguished long distance athlete and now Common Wealth gold medalist, Helalia Johannes, has been promoted from Corporal to the rank of Warrant ...

Finally, after fears that there may not be funds to implement the recently birthed Whistleblower Protection Act and Witness Protection Act, the ju...

Long serving Auditor General (AG), Junias Kandjeke, has shot back at politicians who criticised his long stay in office saying that he is ready to...

Namibia’s common wealth gold medalists Jonas Junias Jonas and Helalia Johannes made their touch down back home and received a joyous welcome...

The Namibian Police (Nampol) on Tuesday morning recovered the body of Saima Thomas, 32, in Hakahana after the shack she and her husband and two ch...

Other Articles from The Villager

ÔÇÿAwilloÔÇÖ makes NPL history

Mon, 21 July 2014 02:46
by Michael Uugwanga

Willy ‘Awillo’ Stephnus of Black Africa  made history by becoming the first player to win both Players Player of the Season and Player of the Season award at the MTC Namibia Premier League (NPL) awards last week. Both awards bagged Stephanus N$ 50 000.
Stephanus shrugged off competition from MTC/NPL top goal scorer, Hendrick Somaeb of Blue Waters.
Wangu Gomes was crowned the young player of the season a head of BA’s Mcbride Ndjavera who was on loan at African Stars the past season.
BA’s coach Brian Isaacs was crowned coach of the season beating his rivals, African Stars Woody Jacobs and Tura Magic’s Timo Tjongarero.
Isaacs was rewarded with a cheque worth N$20 000.
Blue Waters striker, Somaeb scooped the top goal scorer award and pocked N$30 000.
Jacky Gertze of Gals and goals was awarded with the chairmanship award for her contributions towards the development of women football in Namibia.
Martin Ndara was awarded with the referee of the season’s award with Mathew Kanyanga winning the assistant’s referee award.
BA were also awarded their N$1M dollar prize money with a trophy and medals for a record four times in a row and eight times in the history of the competition.
BA’s chairman of board of directors, Ranga Haikali said he is confident that his side will win the 2014/15 soccer season.
“ We started with this plan in 2010 to win five successive titles and so far we have won four and next season we are going to win the fifth, from there is when we can negotiate,” said Haikali.
Stars, Pirates and Tigers were also awarded their prize monies for finishing second, third and fourth respectively.
Stars went home with N$ 600 000, Pirates N$300 000 and Tigers N$1000 000 respectively.
After uncertainty over the future of NPL chairman Johhny Doeseb who’s term comes to an end this week has made a u-turn by announcing that he will run for another term as chairman.
NPL bounds, Julinho, Touch and Go, Benfica, Rebels and Mighty Gunners were also awarded with their prize monies and trophies for gaining promotions to the top league this coming season.