More articles in this category
Top Stories

The Government of the Republic of Namibia rejects, in the strongest terms, a malicious news article published by the British daily tabloid “...

An accused burglar identified only as Victory Hoaeb who got convicted in a Windhoek court on one count of housebreaking with intent to steal and t...

Walvis Bay municipality is to repair all damaged road networks in the coastal town that were ruined by heavy rains last week. The cost involved...

Researchers at Harvard’s Center for International Development (CID) have released their latest growth projections with a list of the to...

The world’s leading Promoter and current MTC Promoter/Coach of the Year, Nestor Tobias says his academy is aiming to crown at least one worl...

Agriculture minister, Alpheus !Naruseb, is weighing the options of extending the right to manage the ministry’s Namibia Agricultural Mechan...

Other Articles from The Villager

SARPCCO games a failure to Namibia

Mon, 2 September 2013 03:10
by Michael Uugwanga

Despite a massive N$33 million investment in hosting the Southern Africa Regional Police Chiefs’ Co-operation Organisation (SARPCCO), Namibia failed to dominate on home ground and instead settled for second spot overall.
Despite a good start to the SARPCCO games for Namibia, things started going bad in the latter stages of the competition as the other countries started to dominate proceedings.
A total of 1500 athletes took place in various sport codes over 10 days
When it comes to the games, Namibia’s female volleyball side narrowly lost to Democratic Republic of Congo (DRC) in the final, going down 3-0 in straight sets (25-17, 25-14, and 25-12 respectively.
Angola won the male volleyball tournament after beating Zimbabwe 3-0 in straight sets, 25-12, 25-23, and 25-21.
In the chess event, Zimbabwe won gold ahead of Angola, while South Africa came third with a bronze medal winning silver with Namibia in a disappointing last out of the seven countries in chess.
Swaziland won the gold medal in netball competition, with Zambia winning silver and Zimbabwe bronze.
In football, South Africa won the men’s soccer final after beating Zimbabwe 2-1 and Zambia coming third with bronze after beating Namibia in the third play-off.
One of the organiser of the SARPCCO games Timo Haikonda said, organisation went well as planned, saying that there is still room for improvement.
Haikonda though said, the country needs to lift up its game in some sports codes that did badly.
“Preparations were excellent although we had some shortcomings. We are looking at bringing the games to the standard of that of the All African Games. We need to improve on netball, shotput, both high and long jumps as these sports codes did bad. But we do have a challenge as we don’t have qualified coaches for those sports codes in the country, something that we will be looking at come the next games,’’ says Haikonda.
The next SARPCCO games will be held in either Angola or Zambia after the police extra ordinary meeting expected to take place in Windhoek next year.
The games are held every two years with South Africa hosting it twice, Botswana, Zimbabwe, Malawi and the DRC each hosting it once respectively.