Namibian President, Hifikepunye Pohamba has reshuffled his cabinet which is effective from today. Pohamba’s reshuffle comes after Sunday’s 5th SWAPO congress, which he said necessitated the redeployment of some political personnel, as well as to bring new ones on board.  

New Ministerial appointments:

Hage Geingob – Prime Minister Nahas Angula – Minister of Defense Pendukeni Ivula-Ithana – Minister of Home Affairs Jerry Ekandjo – Minister of Youth, National Service, Sport and Culture Netumbo Nandi-Ndaitwah – Minister of Foreign Affairs Immanuel Ngatjizeko – Minister of Safety and Security Charles Namoloh – Minister of Regional and Local Government Rosalia Nghidinwa – Minister of Gender Equality and Child Welfare Untoni Nujoma –Minister of Justice Doreen Sioka- Minister of Labour and Social Welfare Uahekua Herungua – Minister of Environment and Tourism Calle Schlettwein – Minister of Trade and Industry Petrus Iilonga -Deputy Minister of Defence Lempy Lucas – Deputy Minister of Agriculture, Water and Forestry Pohamba Shifeta – Deputy Minister of Environment and Tourism Kilus Nguvauva – Deputy Minister of Works and Transport Samuel Ankama – Deputy Minister of Fisheries and Marine Resources Juliet Kavetuna – Deputy Minister of Youth, National Service, Sport and Culture

Reshuffled Governors

Samuel Nuujoma – Governor of Otjozondjupa Region Rapama Rehabeam Kamehozu – Governor of Omaheke Region Laura McLeod-Katjirua – Governor of Khomas Region