More articles in this category
Top Stories

Latest indications from the Namibia Statistics Agency (NSA) dating back from the 2017 financial year are that the number of Namibians who are bank...

Chairperson for the Namibia Airports Company (NAC) Rodgers Kauta has officially resigned from his duties, permanent secretary in the ministry of w...

The defence council presiding over a case of rape and trafficking had a field day yesterday in the Windhoek High Court when the doctor who did the...

Namibian charcoal exports are expected to increase to 200 000 tons by 2020 from 160 000 tons that are exported annually. There are currently ar...

The battle of who should rise to the vacant throne of the Shambyu Traditional Authority played out in the Windhoek High Court before Judge Angula ...

In a daring movie-style criminal act by suspected youths over the weekend, a Katutura-based ambulance was stolen and taken for a joy-ride before b...

Other Articles from The Villager

League clubs unpaid yet

by John Tuerijama


Today marks exactly two weeks following the successful conclusion of the 2011/12 NPL Season last month and clubs are now moaning their prize monies which have not yet been deposited into their respective accounts.
This came to the attention of The Villager Sport when this reporter heard from the grapevine of various team managers that they are eagerly awaiting for their prize monies and are in the dark as to when the payment will be made.
NPL’s acting chief executive officer (CEO) Joshua Hoebeb, acknowledged the non-payment to the 12-member clubs saying, “We are in contact with our members and have this week requested the MTC to transfer the prize money to the accounts of the different clubs.”
He added that the NPL does not deal directly with the prize money payments to the clubs as there are procedures agreed upon with the sponsors that have to be followed.
“Within the agreement between us and MTC, there are also logistical agreements like some clauses that deal with how the payments would be made,” said the acting CEO.
Hoebeb, however, denied any deliberate delay on their part adding that it does not mean that when a league concludes, clubs should be presented with their cheques in the next three days.
“We are not talking about a N$10 bill but millions and proper procedures need to be followed by all parties who in this case are signatories of MTC/NPL sponsorship agreement,” stressed Hoebeb.
He, however, disclosed that the clubs will receive their prize monies later this week.
Despite being given the ceremonial  cheques, the Black Africa champions will pocket a cool N$1m with second placed Civics getting N$400 000 and third placed African Stars receiving N$200 000.
Coastal side Blue Waters who ended at fourth place are to get a N$100 000 as Cymot SKW in fifth place, will take home N$65 000.
Other teams getting prize money under the hundredth thousand mark are Tigers (N$40 000), Ramblers (N$30 000), Mighty Gunners (N$20 000), Orlando Pirates (N$15 000), Eleven Arrows (N$13 000) while the two teams relegated to first division status United Stars and Hotspurs will each get N$10 000 and N$7 000, respectively.
Hoebeb said the 2012/13 season is expected to kick off around September this year.