Baby Warriors leave for COSAFA Championships

The Baby Warriors left for Mauritius to participate in the COSAFA Under-17 Championship on Saturday.

The Baby Warriors will be taking on Botswana, Seychelles and the host Mauritius in Group A at the 2018 Cosafa under 17 Championships from 19 to 29 July.

 They will open their account on Thursday, 19 July as they face Seychelles at 10h00 at the St Francois Xavier Stadium.

The team will then face Mauritius on Saturday 21 July at 15h00 and finish off Group A against Botswana on Tuesday 24 July, 12h00 at Auguste Vollaire Stadium.

Namibia won the Cosafa under 17 Championship in 2016 after defeating favorites, South Africa in a 3-1 penalty shoot-out following a 1-1 draw in the final that was also staged in Mauritius and missed out last year due to lack of funds.

After weeks of intensive training and conditioning, the 2016 COSAFA Cup winning mentor and Head of Delegation this time around, Timothy Tjongarero is content with the players’ overall physical fitness levels, despite a few worries around their match fitness.

“Another worrying aspect is the lack of harmony among the players, as our usual combinations are not yet clicking, but I’m confident we will get there with time. For us it will be good to go as far as possible, hence this is a qualification game, we strongly need to work on the forwards and score as many goals as possible” he said.

South Africa are in Group B together with Lesotho, Zambia and Mozambique while Group C consist of Angola, Swaziland, Malawi and Zimbabwe. The semifinals will be on 27 July with Group A winners up against Group C winners and Group B winners taking on the Best Loser.

 The final will be on 29th  July and the event winners will qualify for the 2019 African under 17 Cup of Nations to be held in Tanzania.

The technical team comprising of Coach Paul Malembu and his assistant Shipena Nakalondo finally announced the team of 20 players for the 2018 Cosafa Championship from the initial 32.

The Baby Warriors for COSAFA U/17 Cup are : Goalkeepers: Utupuka Kavita, Ikuaterua Mungendje.

 Defenders: Tjpenandjambi Kaputjaza, Promise Gurirab, Vincenco Ganeb, Bradley Hanixab, Thomas Bantam, Aidyn Eiseb, Giagino Geiriseb.

Midfielders: Steven Damaseb, Esegiel Katjirijova, Prins Tjiueza, Tyrin George, Ndjiharine Katjivena, Penouua Kandjii, Edmar Kamatuka; Strikers: Jahrule Awaseb, Gonzales Tsubeb, Friedman Goraseb, and Djorkaef Stein.