Drikus and Irene dominate Eagle Ride



The Otjiwa MTB Eagle Ride is one of the favorites on the Gravel & Dirt calendar, and once again pulled hundreds of local MTB riders to its gates. 

Roughly 360 riders braved the crisp morning air to take on yet another course designed to offer its own set of challenges, with the addition of a Rhino spotting being a very real prospect.
The Eagle Ride is a relatively flat course that guarantees fast paced action packed riding in both the 80km and 40km distances on the 100% Jeep Track route. 

This year once again played host to both a 10km and 21km trail run that saw runners from across the country line up to take on what the bush had to throw at them.
Tension mounted at the riders lined up for the start, with many familiar faces staring ahead at the prospect of the challenges awaiting them. 

The energy could be felt in the air as the countdown hit zero, and from the get go one could see that this was going to be one for the books.
Drikus Coetzee (2:20:58) returned to the Gravel & Dirt in emphatic style after a short absence, dominating the pack from the get go to cross the finish line a full 2 minutes ahead of his nearest rivals Nicolaas Swart (2:22:47) in second and Xavier Papo in third (2:22:48).
The same can be said for the impressive display of talent delivered by Irene Steyn (2:42:33) in the 80km Elite Woman, who crossed the finish line a staggering 11 minutes ahead of Michelle Doman (2:53:13) and Janine De Klerk (3:00:46).

“We would like to thank Otjiwa Lodge for the privilege to have been able to host this event at such a beautiful location. As well as our series sponsors Hollard, Kia Motors, Windhoek Light, Food Lovers Market and Cymot, without your support none of this would have been possible,” said the organisers.

The winners in the other 80km categories are as follows:

80km Sub Vet Men

1. Ingram Cuff (2:22:48)
2. Cobus Smit (2:26:17)
3. Christiaan Bean (2:35:59)

80km Sub Vet Woman

1. Jeanne Heunis (2:49:02)
2. Silke Bean (2:55:23)
3. Rosi Hennes (2:55:24)

80km Vet Men

1. Fanie Steenkamp (2:22:49)
2. Clinton Hilfiker (2:22:50)
3. Nick Du Plessis (2:33:04)

80km Vet Woman

1. Anneke Steenkamp (2:53:14)
2. Wilmien Chamberlain (3:03:51)
3. Michaela Ham (3:03:52)

80km Master Men

1. Gerhard (snr) Mans (2:41:43)
2. Sakkie Schreuder (2:41:43)
3. Otto Zapke (2:42:35)

80km Master Women

1. Barbara Ackermann (3:00:03)
2. Karin Brockmann (3:21:49)
3. Berrit Graf (3:25:31)

80km Rhino Men

1. Volker Engling (2:42:34)
2. Eneill Buitendag (2:56:34)
3. Andre Van Staden (2:56:42)

80km Grand Master Men

1. Hercules Viljoen (2:55:59)
2. Jens Adam (3:06:25)
3. Daniel F Small (3:44:50)