More articles in this category
Top Stories

The Namibia National Students’ Organisation has hailed the Namibia Career Expo agency’s 10th anniversary describing it as a consistent...

The Swapo Party Youth League (SPYL) has come out guns blazing against what they said has been a misrepresentation of facts based on what justice m...

The Namibia Student Financial Assistance Fund has flatly dismissed a letter calling for an Anti-Corruption Commission probe into possible fraud an...

The Namibia Institute of Pathology has suspended its chief executive officer, Augustinus Katiti effective immediately, following alleged transgres...

The tug of war for and against marine phosphate mining on the oceans of Namibia has left Pohamba Shifeta with a few hours within which he should m...

Two men who have been identified as Nicodemus Apollus (29) and Mervis Gariseb (37) burned to death after their shack caught fire in Windhoek&rsquo...

Other Articles from The Villager

Rossing Uranium rewards marathon winners

by Rodney Pienaar

Rossing Uranium last week rewarded the marathon winners of its annual event, after a successful run last month.

This year’s event which was themed ‘For the health of it’ attracted more than 500 participants in the 10 km marathon, new half-marathon and the 5 km walk, the corporate communications Alwyn Lubbe told The Villager.

 “It was a very exciting and fun race and we did not expect such a huge turnout. The marathon has attracted more runners each year and this is one of the best years we have witnessed. I am happy about the performance of all the runners that entered the competition. Just by entering and taking part they are also winners,” he said.

 He added that in total more than 500 runners participated in the marathon.

 Tomas Rainhold of Namibian Defence Force was crowned as the Rossing marathon national champion recording a time of 2 hours 17 minutes and 35 seconds.

Rainhold also landed the 2nd place for the mens’ open category, after Zambian national Mathews Mutanya in the fastest time of 2 hours 16 minutes and 52 seconds.

 The marathon ladies open category was won by Anna Amutoko who recorded a 2 hours 53 minutes and 45 seconds run.

 This was the 27th consecutive year that the Rossing marathon national championship was hosted.  

 The category prize winners have all walked away with a cash prize of N$10 000 each. In the lady’s open category Lavinia Haitope from Namibian Police won this year’s marathon in a time of 1 hour 16 minutes and 05 seconds while the fastest runner in the men’s category of the half marathon was Mynhardt Kaunavi from Namibia Correctional Services in a time of 1 hour 5 minutes and 49 seconds of the half-marathon.

 About 295 walkers took part in the popular 5 killometer walk aid of the Cancer Association of Namibia. The marathon was sponsored by Rio Tinto Rossing Uranium and hosted by Swakop Striders Club and the event took place in Swakopmund in overcast windless conditions from the Vineta sports fields taking the runners on the Henties Bay road.