More articles in this category
Top Stories

Namibia will be hosting Kenya for the final match of the Rugby Africa Gold CUP in Windhoek this weekend, as the Cup concludes. With 17 points o...

The High Court today sentenced Zenobia Seas (34), charged with the murder of her three-year-old daughter Ava Owoses, to 25 years in prison. Seas a...

Urban and rural development minister, Peya Mushelenga and the Shambyu Traditional Authority have suffered defeat in court when the minister’...

Two of the dozens of Angolan nationals arraigned before the court for defrauding the finance ministry out of millions of dollars via a Value Added...

The Minister of Environment and Tourism Pohamba Shifeta says that communal conservancies must be accountable for funds they generate from tourism ...

Former chief executive officer for the Namibia Chamber of Commerce and Industry (NCCI) Tarah Shaanika has accused the chamber’s Walvis Bay b...

Other Articles from The Villager

No more two deputy ministers per ministry

by Staff Writer

Following recent re-assignments to cabinet portfolios, President Hage Geingob announced a raft of changes, one of which being the doing away of two deputy ministers under one ministry.

Following the promotion of three long serving deputy ministers last week, to full ministerial portfolio and departure of three deputy ministers (ministry of agriculture, water and forestry; works and transport and labour, industrial relations and employment creation), six vacancies were created on the establishment.

In making these appointments, president Geingob took into account the need to realign deputy ministers.

Existing vacancies have been primarily filled with appointees from ministries that were previously served by two deputies.

Five ministries of the total 25 were served by two deputy ministers each.

“There is no longer any ministry served by two (2) deputy ministers,” confirmed Statehouse.

 Three deputy ministers responsible for special recognition categories (marginalized, disability and veteran affairs) have been clustered under the presidency, to leverage resources.

With regard to gender balance, 17 of the 28 deputy ministers are women.

Finally, in line with government’s leadership succession philosophy, two new appointments were made, namely, Veikko Nekundi and Bernadette Jagger.