More articles in this category
Top Stories

Presidential advisor on economic matters, John Steytler has cautioned critics against quickly labeling the presidential flag-ship economic blue-pr...

Popular Democratic Movement (PDM) president, McHenry Venaani has lashed back at critics whom he said are not doing research to properly analyse th...

The former NWR managing director, Tobias Aupindi and his co-accused Antonio di Savino were told to return to the Windhoek Magistrates Court in Feb...

The plan by the Namibia National Students Organisation (Nanso) and student representative councils to submit letters of demand at the Namibia Stud...

In a media engagement where he set his 2018 party agenda, official opposition party president, McHenry Venaani, seized on the opportunity to hamme...

About 30 illegal livestock farmers have been evicted this past weekend in the pursuit for the construction of a Cheetah Cement factory, sources ha...

Other Articles from The Villager

NAMAs receives 800 entries for 2018

by Staff reporter

The Namibian Annual Music Awards (NAMAs) committee has announced that it received over 800 entries for the 2018 music awards.

A total of 812 entries were received for consideration as nominees for the up and coming ceremony that is scheduled to take place in April next year.

The newly appointed NAMAs Executive Chairperson Umbi Karuaihe-Upi says, “This is indeed remarkable and impressive considering that we have tweaked the format of categories for the pending awards slightly different, which included a drop in some of the categories.”

She further said a notable change the committee made was the reversion to a one-day event for 2018 from the departure of the previous two days event which was a weekend fiesta adopted since 2014.

Categories that were opened for entry were Afrikaans, Damara Punch, Oviritje, Soukous/Kwasa, Afro Pop, Gospel, Kwaito, R&B, Rap/Hip Hop, House, Reggae, Traditional, Collaboration, Single, Newcomer, Music video, song of the year, pan African artist, best group, producer and lifetime achiever.

Next year’s ceremony is scheduled to take place on the 28th of April 2018, and the committee encourages different town councils and municipalities to submit their bids to host the country’s premier music event.

Meanwhile, the number of entries for each category received were Best Damara Punch 16, Best Afrikaans 8, Best Oviritjie 15, Best Sokous/Kwasa 25, Best Afro Pop 65, Best Gospel 38, Best Kwaito, 34, Best R & B 36, Best Hip Hop 59, Best House 22, Best Reggae 38, Best Traditional 37, Best Video 97, Best Single 115, Best Collaboration 142 and Best Producer 39.

These are not the final entries as the steering committee still needs to go through each and every entry to ensure it complies with all the rules.