More articles in this category
Top Stories

A Namibia University of Science and Technology (NUST) student, Nayman Amakali, was killed on the spot when a taxi he was in was shot at by an unid...

Agribank chief executive officer, Sakaria Nghikembua, has refused to bow down to pressure from previously disadvantaged farmers who marched to the...

The local economy has been growing at a considerably good pace with an average rate of 4.48% reaching an all time high of 21% in the third quarter...

  As the nation prepares to celebrate the 28th year of Independence, Vibe took to the streets to speak to local entertainers on what Independe...

Swift action has been taken to bring under control the flooding situation observed at the Tsumeb Sports Field where the 28th independence celebrat...

The local ready-made-food products manufacturing industry is having sleepless nights over the panic that has been caused by the outbreak of Lister...

Other Articles from The Villager

Victory race winners to be awarded

by Rodney Pienaar

Winners of the 17th Old Mutual victory race series will be awarded this week after the finals took place in October.

The Series Prize Winners, will consist of the top male and female 21Km athletes, to qualify in the Annual Two Oceans Marathon, as well as the top junior male and female athletes that will receive a sport development bursary each, Communication Officer at Old Mutual Tracy Garises has told The Villager. 

“Old Mutual Foundation strives to support and invest in local athletes through the Victory Race Series as a Responsible Business in its communities. The OM Foundation aims to invest in areas which include education, community development, skills capacity development and health,” she said.

She added that for the past 17 years, the event has become the most anticipated opportunity for Namibians to excel in athletics and to commit themselves at excelling in their career as athletes.

Garises explained that the contest has attracted well-known Namibian athletes over the years such as the likes of Luketz Swartbooi, Raynold Ita, Willem Rooi, Elizabeth Monguni, to mention just a few, whilst old-timers such as Simon Paulus, Roden Gudus Gustav and Johannes Skrywer were early beneficiaries of the sport bursary scheme.

Annually the Old Mutual foundation invests a total of N$ 1 000 000 towards the success of the race alongside its co-sponsors, Coca-Cola Namibia Bottling Company and Business Connexion.

“This initiative and many others that Old Mutual support through the Old Mutual Foundation, is underpinned by our cardinal principle of being a responsible business. At Old Mutual, we attach a deep meaning to this notion of Responsible Business, which entails an extensive commitment to Namibia that goes beyond the normal obligations of a business enterprise,” Garises said. 

She added that in order to create an equal platform for a diverse group of competitors, the track categories were divided into Severe Disability, Disability, 5Km and 21Km and accommodated entrants from under 15 years of age to veterans that are 50 years and above. 

The Victory Race series were hosted in Oshakati; Swakopmund; Keetmanshoop and Windhoek respectively.