More articles in this category
Top Stories

Namibian Police spokesperson deputy commissioner Edwin Kanguatjivi has refuted kidnapping, murder and child trafficking allegations made by an angry...

Under fire Zimbabwean first lady, Grace Mugabe’s whereabouts in Namibia have been kept in hushed tones by top officials while home affairs m...

Swapo presidential candidate Hage Geingob has all the time to fulfil his campaign promises. However, more action is needed to bring tangible re...

The Development Bank of Namibia’s (DBN) request for the submission of an expression of interest for the provision of a core banking system h...

Campaign Promise: What More Will TEAM HARAMBEE Do   This section presents the campaign promise of TEAM HARAMBEE and highlights the prio...

The so-called Team Swapo circus was at Walvis Bay yesterday where, once again, self-serving statements were made about the Party. Listening to ...

Other Articles from The Villager

NSI hosts 5th Annual National Quality Awards

by   Staff Writer 

The Namibian Standards Institution (NSI) will be hosting the 5th Annual National Quality Awards event on the 23rd November in Windhoek.

The National Quality Awards event is the brainchild of the Cabinet approved National Quality Policy document of 1 June 1999.

The event is part of government’s drive to establish, develop and enhance a strong and fully functional national quality infrastructure regime and encourage a quality culture in the country. 

The aim of the quality awards is to recognize and appreciate industries, enterprises; including the service sector and individuals who perform excellently on quality. It will also honour those who contribute to quality advancement in all sectors of the Namibian economy, by having measurements and quality systems, procedures and processes that are in line with local, regional and international practices. The programme will also recognize those individuals who use quality advancement to support national economic development and growth.

The NSI’s General Manager for Standards Development and Coordination Jekonia Haufiku stated that the awards further aims to enhance the understanding of quality principles, business methods and all national and international standards that promotes quality and competitiveness.

“Through these awards we want to encourage industry to use standards to add value to their products so as to competitively market their products and develop their brands at international level. We also want to encourage individuals with drive and expertise in quality related issues to become active role players in strengthening the local quality infrastructure regime. “ 

He added that apart from honouring enterprises, the event will also recognize individual contributions towards Namibia’s quest of creating a strong national quality infrastructure regime.

The event is aimed at attracting broad national representation and participation from across all fourteen regions and all sectors of the Namibian economy and across all business spectrum and sizes. The National Quality Awards consist of 5 categories these are as follows:

· Category 1: Company of the Year

· Category 2: Product of the Year

· Category 3: Service of Year

· Category 4: Exporter of the Year

· Category 5: Individual Quality Award

Any business large or small are eligible to participate in the first four categories provided they are registered with the Ministry of Industrialisation, Trade and SME Development and they have good standing with the Receiver of Revenue. The participating enterprises in the first four categories must be applying standards and provide proof of up-to-date certification against at least one standard.

The NSI has appointed independent judges from the quality fraternity to ensure balanced adjudication and judges are expected to comply with the code of ethics and conduct for judges. The five national category winners will represent Namibia in the annual SADC Quality Awards event in 2018.