More articles in this category
Top Stories

 Higher education minister Itah Kandjii-Murangi has said that the process of reversing NSFAF functions to the ministry will take longer, and ...

The issues surrounding ancestral land claims should be the focus of the upcoming National Land Conference slated for next year, political analysts...

  The Motor Vehicle Accident Fund (MVA Fund) has confirmed that 713 Namibians perished in motor vehicle accidents between 1 January and 10 Dec...

Namibia Power Corporation Pty (NamPower) signed a power purchase agreement worth N$1.5 billion with Diaz Wind Power for the off take of electricit...

The government of Namibia has learned with deep horror and revulsion, of the wanton killing of United Nations peacekeepers of the Tanzanian contin...

Analysts who spoke to The Villager this week said Government should learn from the losses in 2017 with the collapse of the SME Bank which put at l...

Other Articles from The Villager

18 schools built in nine years

by Rodney Pienaar

The Ministry of education has only constructed 18 schools in the last nine years.

Construction of schools in rural areas is part of the National Development Plan, and the ministry has been committing itself to rule out bush school where children are taught under trees, the Education permanent secretary Sanet Steenkamp has said.  

“Construction of schools is the ministry’s priority. As a ministry we have seen the need to bring proper schools to those areas that had no school buildings at all especially in the remote areas of the country and will continue doing so until we have covered the whole country,” Steenkamp said. 

She added that the building of schools play a very important role in society as it is destructive to have a classroom setup under trees. This is because the surroundings can be destructive for learners.

The ministry has recorded that fewer children are taught under trees now, although bush schools still exist.

Steenkamp has said that education plays a crucial role for the future generation because they are future the leaders and those future leaders need to be educated. 

“To have great leaders that we must build more schools and we have proved that we are be able to achieve the dream of replacing bush schools with proper schools, and we now have a free education system for schools,” she said.

She added that a lot has to be done and the private sector needs to get on board and assist in any way they can as this is a fight for the whole country. 

The schools are:

·        Dr Abraham Iyambo SSS in Ohangwena Region;

·        Eheke SSS in Oshana region;

·        Walvis Bay SSS in Erongo Region,

·        Otjomuise Primary School in Khomas Region;

·        Ongwediva Combined School in Oshana Region; 

·        Okahao Primary School,

·        Outapi Primary School,

·        Onawa SSS that are all in Omusati Region;

·        Omuntele SSS  in Oshikoto Region; 

·        Kandjimi Murangi in Kavango West Region;

·        Ncaute SSS in Kavango East Region;

·        Cimbebasia PS in Khomas Region;

·        Senior Secondary School at Grootfontein in Otjozondjupa Region ;

·        Community Learning and Development Centre in Otjozondjupa at Ngoma in Zambezi Region.


Others are:

·        the National Institute for Special Education (NISE) in Windhoek;

·        Anamulenge and Etayi Circuit Offices,

·        Extension to the Directorate of National Examinations and Assessment (DNEA);

·        National Council On Higher Education Offices

·        National Qualifications Authority (NQA) Offices in Windhoek and additional Classrooms

·        a Hall at Dagbreek Special School

·        a Community Learning and Development Centre